Pioneer PBS programs and talent have been nominated for 18 Upper Midwest Emmy® Awards to be presented at the 20th Annual Upper Midwest Regional Emmy® Awards Gala hosted by the Upper Midwest Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences on October 5, 2019 in Prior Lake. This is the most regional Emmy nominations for Pioneer’s local productions in the 53-year history of the station.

10 stories created and aired this past year by Pioneer PBS’ Postcards production team of Dana Conroy, Ben Dempcy and Kristofor Gieske are up for nominations. The selected stories feature interviews with artists, photographers, Dakota teachers, a veteran and a historic collector from towns such as Milan, Madison, Maple Grove, Alexandria and other communities in the extensive Pioneer PBS viewing area.

Five of the nominated segments were created by Pioneer PBS’ Prairie Sportsman production team of Cindy Dorn, Bret Admundson, Dylan Curfman and Max Grabow. The selected stories feature twin sled dog mushers, decoy artists, T.U.N.E. Camp for youth, pollinator-friendly solar and the National Eagle Center in Wabasha.

Prairie Sportsman’s host Bret Admundson was nominated in the “Program Host” category and Prairie Sportsman producer Cindy Dorn was nominated in the “Writer” category for the outdoors series, which is carried on all Minnesota PBS stations.

Pioneer PBS’ new program LANDMARKS about the barns, churches and school houses of western and southwestern Minnesota also was nominated for an award. The program features host Doug Ohman and is produced by Pioneer’s Production Director Timothy Hale Bakken.

All of the nominated stories can be viewed online at: